Parshuram Jayanti 2020 Twitterati hail

New Delhi: Parshuram Jayanti commemorates the birthday of the sixth incarnation of Lord Vishnu – Parshuram. The day falls in the Shukla Paksha Tritiya in the month of Vaishakh. Parshuram is considered the sixth incarnation of Lord Vishnu. It is believed that, like other Lord Avatars, Parshuram was born to kill evil. Aggression, war and […]

Goddess Siddhidatri

  Goddess Siddhidatri (सिद्धिदात्री)   Origin – Siddhidatri (“Siddhi” means “Perfection” and “Datri” means “Giver’) means the one who gives perfections and achievements to her devotees.It is believed that, Lord Shiva worshipped Adi-Shakti for creation of the Universe. Then the supreme Goddess of Power, Adi-Shakti, appeared in the form of Goddess Siddhidatri from the left half of […]

Goddess Mahagauri

  Goddess Mahagauri (महागौरी) Origin – According to Hindu mythologies, Devi Mahagauri is 16 years old unmarried Goddess Parvati.When Goddess Parvati was a sixteen year girl, she was extremely beautiful and blessed with fair complexion. Thus she was known as Goddess Mahagauri which means extremely white. Navratri Day of Worship – Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped on the eighth […]

Maa Kalratri

Goddess Kalaratri

  Goddess Kalaratri (कालरात्रि) – The Dark Goddess   Origin – In Skand Purana, when the Goddess Parvati removed outer golden skin and becomes dark complexioned to kill demons named Raktabeej, she was known as Goddess Kalaratri. She is the most ferocious form of Goddess Parvati. Kaal Ratri (Kaal represents “time & death” and ratri means “night”) […]

Maa Katyayani

Goddess Katyayani

  Goddess Katyayani (कात्यायनी)   Origin – Goddess Parvati took the form of Goddess Katyayani to kill demon Mahishasura. She was the most violent form of Goddess Parvati and hence she is also known as Warrior Goddess. Navratri Day ofWorship – Goddess Katyayani is worshipped on the Navratri’s sixth day. Ruling Planet – The planet Brihaspati (Jupiter) is governed […]

Maa SkandMata

Goddess Skandamata

  Goddess Skandamata (स्कन्दमाता)   Origin – Goddess Skandamata or Maa Parvati is the mother of Lord Skanda (also known as Lord Kartikeya/Murugan). Navratri Day of Worship – Goddess Skandamata is worshipped on the fifth day of Navratri. Ruling Planet – She governs the planet Budha (Mercury). Idol – Goddess Skandamata mounts on the lion. She carries baby (infant) Murugan […]

Maa Kushmanda

Goddess Kushmanda

    Goddess Kushmanda (कूष्माण्डा) – The Smiling Goddess   Origin – Goddess Parvati started living inside the center of the Sun so that she can release energy to the universe and therefore Goddess is known as Kushmanda (‘Ku’ means ‘a little’; ‘ushma’ means ‘warmth’; ‘anda’ means ‘the cosmic egg’). The glow and radiance of her body is […]

Maa Chandraghanta

Goddess Chandraghanta

  Goddess Chandraghanta (चंद्रघंटा)   Origin – Goddess Chandraghanta is the third form of Shakti and is the married form the Goddess Parvati. She also started embellishing her forehead with half Chandra after getting married to Lord Shiva and thus Goddess Parvati was known as Goddess Chandraghanta. Navratri Day of Worship – Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the […]

Maa Brahmacharini

Goddess Brahmacharini

  Goddess Brahmacharini (ब्रह्मचारिणी)   Origin – The unmarried form of Sati, daughter of Daksha Prajapati is worshipped as Goddess Brahmacharini. Navratri Day of Worship – Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri. Ruling Planet – She rules the Lord Mangal (Planet Mars), the provider of all fortunes. Idol – She holds rosary (Jap Mala or Rudraksha beads) […]

Maa Shailputri

Goddess Shailputri

Goddess Shailputri (शैलपुत्री)   Origin – Shailputri- in Sanskrit, “Shail” means mountains, “Putri” means daughter, the daughter of the King of the Mountains Himavan or Lord Himalaya. She is also known as Hemavati and Parvati. Goddess Shailputri got married to Lord Shiva. In her previous birth she was Goddess Sati who sacrificed herself in the fire. Navratri Day […]

Nav Durga

Navratri Navdurga

Navratri Navdurga   Navdurga means Nine Goddess Durga the manifestation of Durga in nine different forms. According to Hindu mythology, Navdurga originates from Goddess Parvati who is considered supreme power among all Goddesses. Conceptually Navdurga is the life phase of Goddess Parvati. Navdurga are worshipped in India by Hindus during the festival of Navratri (Nine Divine Nights). These nine forms of […]

Sabudana Khichdi

Navratri Food Items for Fast

  Navratri Food Items for Fast   The fast of Navratri is observed from the first day to the ninth day. Many people only eats fruit during the nine days fast while many other devotees take a single meal either complete food with salt or food without salt (food for fast) during the day/night. Non-vegetarian […]

Chitra navratri

2014 Chaitra Navratri Dates

  2014 Chaitra Navratri Dates     Navratri Day 1 Pratipada March 31, 2014 GhatsthapanaShailaputri Puja Navratri Day 2 Dwitiya April 01, 2014 Sindhara DoojBrahamcharini Puja Navratri Day 3 Tritya April 02, 2014 Gauri TeejSaubhagya Teej Varad Vinayaka Chauth Chandraghanta Puja Navratri Day 4 Chaturthi April 03, 2014 Kushmanda PujaNaag Puja Lakshmi Panchami Navratri Day […]

Nav Durga


  Navratri   Navratri, the Festival of Nine Nights (in Sanskrit, nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights), is a festival dedicated to the worship of the Hindu deity Maa Durga (the Goddess of Valor) along with Maa Lakshmi (the Goddess of Wealth), and  Maa Saraswati(he Goddess of Knowledge). This festival is dedicated to the nine days of worship, fast and festivity. It is […]